How is your Motivation?…..Is it time to turn up the “Volume” in your Life


Has your Life hit a flat spot?

The music in you, the sweet, sweet music has been relegated to a background track…..maybe it’s time to get motivated & turn up the volume a couple of notches.

However before we do…where does it come from, this Motivation?

Is it something learned Or is it something that we all have inside of us?…..

# Hello fellow Life Lovers, what gets you motivated?

Is your motivation spontaneous? Do you have that spontaneity spark? Or is it a motivation built from momentum…..i.e

Do you jump up and into anything and just do it(Nike) without any prompting or do you just keep rolling on with a focus because you have a bigger prize in mind? Either way, having the motivation is good.

Whatever, motivation is a strange beast. How can one person be so motivated yet another can be so un- motivated?

So, where does it come from?

Does your motivation come from within e.g love, passion, committment, family, integrity?

or is it only external e.g wanting/needing a bigger house, sports car, luxury boat, world cruise, glory, front page headlines?

N.B If it’s external only, is there are cost to be paid, in the long term?

ME,  I think if the root of the motivation is internal then the gratification is magnified. Sure, go for the bigger house, luxury boat etc, but not at the cost of…….(fill in the blanks)

Anyway, they are my thoughts, you may have different ideas…..please share in the comments section.

So I’m still puzzled…..  Is it something that we are born with, is it handed down by our parents, peers, heroes OR

is it learned? Now how can you “learn” motivation?

I dig a little deeper. Maybe, just maybe “motivation” is an extra gear in our personal transmissions. When we develop a desire to have/do/feel an experience, a goal or similar, our transmission clicks into another gear, overdrive if you will.

You may be asking if there’s no desire, what happens. ME, I think you stay in “Park” or “Neutral”.

Sub thought…(The desire breeds the motivation. Or does the motivation breed the desire?…Interesting, can you have one without the other or are they inter twined?…it doesn’t matter too much in my book.)

If the ‘desire’, end goal, end game is strong enough, your motivation to achieve same will kick in……

this I believe is part of the learning process.

For those with a low or no desire(s), learning that having a Strong enough desire (integrity based) will fuel your motivation to achieve, can be a breakthrough.

Note that I am using ‘desire’ not ‘need’. I see desire as worthy, coming from a position of strength & integrity and ‘need’ as mainly superficial or short term. Hence the motivation coming from desire is much stronger & is likely to last longer.

Poorly constructed goals ( low desire)will achieve poor results. This will de- motivate rather than motivate.

Strong, meaningful goals(high desire) will fuel your motivation & achieve meaningful results. Your motivation in turn increases as each meaningful result is achieved. Your motivation will then become a habit.

So what do you think?

Do you have the Motivation to step up a notch?

Is your “volume” loud enough?

Are your desires strong enough?

# Make some loud noises in the comments section below, I look forward to hearing from you.

Be good to yourselves

David

p.s  Feel free to view & “like” my Facebook page over there, if you like

Check out my Virtual Coach page here

I also hang out @ www.davidstevenslifecoach.com.au


23 thoughts on “How is your Motivation?…..Is it time to turn up the “Volume” in your Life

  1. Thanks for this David.

    It’s a fascinating subject and you’ve inspired me to write a post abut it in due course!
    As it’s a pouring wet day here perhaps I’ll start today… the rain will be my motivation. There has to be some good in it!

  2. Great post my friend David,

    I feel motivation comes from within for me – I’m driven by my SOURCE – my divine – LOVE!

    Love for the people around me, the love and desire to make this a better world by touching lives through a smile, a touch, a gift….

    Michael Jordan states, JUST DO IT – I say DO IT!!!!

    Living in the possibilities,
    Nancy

  3. No I don’t think desire breeds motivation. Take the UK’s recent riots. All the young’ins involved and a lot of the oldies desired material things, watches, sports gear, plasma screens. They would have no doubt grown up desiring these things for a long time. But were they prepared to put it onto a wish list with a long term work plan to acquire those things?
    I’m not too convinced that you can be motivated without a desire for something either. A better life. A nicer home. A wife. A husband. If you don’t want these standard things or indeed something else, what would motivate you to even get out of bed?

    Where does it come from? I think it is like the Olympic flame. It can be passed on and on creating (mainly) good feeling wherever it goes. Speak with a motivational person and a fire burns inside as you’ve caught their passion and become determined and motivated.

    I don’t know if this can happen without someone else helping it. i.e a parent or a mentor or a TV personality stoking the old motivational fires. Most of the best coaches I know had someone who THEY in turn ‘learned’ from.

    Hallo, by the way.

    1. Hi Pea,
      Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, I believe there is a difference between ‘internal’ & ‘external’ motivation. Your point re the UK wouldeasily relate to ‘external’ motivation. Internal will very likely give you greater results in the long run & get you out of bed in the morning.
      be good to yourself
      David

  4. Hi David,
    For me I am a natural go -getter and I just do it and figure it out along the way. When I do eventually hit a flat spot it’s a signal for me that some changes are needed.

    Maybe more rest and less work and goals or perhaps learn a new and relaxing hobby.

    1. G’day Justin,
      You seem like an ‘up & at ’em’ type of person. It’s good to be aware of the signals. We can often miss them or disregard them. Play your “music” loud.
      be good to yourself
      David

  5. Hi David,

    For me personally, when I think of the benefits that I will get from doing something and from achieving my goals, I get to stay motivated. This is why I like to visualize my goals as they happened already. This increases motivation in me. Thanks for sharing

    1. Hi Alex,
      Thank you for your inspiration. Yes, you do need to know when to alter your “volume”, whether that be up ordown – great point. Thank you for calling in &
      be good to yourself
      David

  6. Hi David,

    Very thoughtful post.

    I think we’re all motivated by different things, and upbringing and self-Love factors considerably. I’m a highly self-motivated person.. life is short, how can I best be of service following my passions today? Each day moving closer to the desired manifestation, moment by delicious moment.. 🙂

    1. Hi Antonia,
      Thank you for calling in & for your comment. Very true that Life is short…..grab & cherish each moment. You have a very nice web site, I’ll keep in touch.
      be good to yourself
      David

  7. Hi David,

    Good post to give us food for thought!! I feel internally driven, but can also be motivated by others around me. If we have the desire to become more motivated, certainly it can be learned. I just read Steve Chandler’s book, “100 Ways to Motivate Yourself,” and learned a few new things. When we are not motivated, it’s important to ask, why? take care.

    1. Hi Cathy,
      I appreciate your comments. I can tell that you are a motivated lady. Thank you for calling in. I just subscribed to your site & look forward to more “goodies” from you.
      be good to yourself
      David

  8. always you ask the great questions. My motivation, spurred from within, is flowered into flame by my spirit and my surround myself with conscious individuals who flow with grace.
    walk in beauty.

  9. I believe motivation can have a lot to do with parents. If our parenting and our environment. As children when we see others working hard to make life a little better and easier we see the resolves of hard word. On the flip side of it if our parents or environment is showing lack of motivation we get into the habit of just existing.

    However children do take actions of others in different ways. On sibling may say, I don’t like this kind of life if the parents are lazy and another may like it and never changes.

    To me it does come down to personality, but at them same time we can always be taught good habits. It is up to the individual how they want to lead there life. Parents and environment can make a big difference by there teaching.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    Blessing,
    Debbie

    1. Hi Debbie,
      Thank you for taking the time to share your comment. As I have mused…Motivation can be a strange beast…. it’s often difficult to determine where it comes from. Different strokes for different folks, I guess. I’m with you on your point re parents. Their effect can be long lasting, hopefully it’s a good effect. In the end we all have choices…..
      Thank you again & be good to yourself
      David

  10. Does your motivation come from within e.g love, passion, committment, family, integrity?

    This is a question that could be life changing if I were to ask it each morning. I’m putting it on an index card right now. If my answer is no I can get back in alignment with my purpose and begin again. I have a feeling this would disolve all fear to move forward as well. You’ve got me thinkin’ over here and it’s a good thing.

Leave a comment