Words…..


Hello fellow Life Lovers,

Are “words” just words or is there more to it ?…..

Words can harm us

Words can save us

Words can soothe us

Words can upset us

Words are the manifestation or expression of our thoughts

Words are powerful…..our thoughts are powerful

Do you choose your Words wisely?…..or do you “run your mouth”

Again, our words are the expression of our thoughts…..so what are you thinking & saying now?

How can you use your “words” for good, for your betterment and the betterment of those with whom you come into contact?

What meaning do you give to your words…..do they have substance?

Are your words followed by action?

Do your words compell others to take action?

* I’ll let you ponder on this for a little…….

* After pondering, I would love you to share your thoughts in the comments box below.

be good to yourselves

David

p.s  Feel free to view & “like” my Facebook page over there, if you like

check out my Virtual Coach pagehere

I also hang out @ www.davidstevenslifecoach.com.au

27 thoughts on “Words…..

  1. David,

    Thank you for the powerful reminder to be mindful in all that we say and do. If we realized the influendce that we had on others we might not speak so casually. Can you remember a time when a kind word helped you through a rough day?

  2. Words are powerful for certain – I just got through watching over a few hours of Tony Robbins and then I got this blog post. So if you ever have listened to Tony Robbins you will know for certain that words are mighty and very powerful!

    Living in the possibilities,
    Nancy

  3. Hi David,
    There are definitely times that I wish I could edit my words like I edit my blog posts. Fortunately people are forgiving beings and we forgive our trespassers so to speak.

    Of course for us bloggers we have a platform to use our words to cause others to take action in their lives.

    • Hi Justin,
      Yeh, the “edit” button comes in handy when we are writing. If we had an internal one of those or a “pause” button we could save ourselves some grief. Your last sentence certainly reinforces the positive influence that bloggers can have with their words. Thank you.
      be good to yourself
      David

  4. I LOVE words. When I write, part of the fun is getting words to say what I want them to say, making them flow, moulding them to tell the story that I want to tell.

    Then of course, there is intent Vs impact. Sometimes when I blog, I will receive a comment and think how did they get there from what I had written; that’s not what I meant. And I go back and tweak my words, learning and reflecting on the power of words as I go.

    I also like to experiment with the topics I write about to see how people respond. If I only ever write about the ‘happy clappy’ stuff is that giving a false image of me as someone who has it sorted and does that put people off? If I indulge in a little moaning, does that just fuel the negative cycle?

    And this is just the written word. But I think I have said enough for one comment!

    Karen

    • Hi Karen,
      you are doing just fine. Experimentation is a good thing, I do the same. This post for example was a lot shorter. Wanted to see whether the commenters would fill in some of the blanks. There’s nothing wrong with putting it out there & a little indulgence. Thank you for taking the time to comment. I subscribed to your blog, interested to see your work.
      be good to yourself
      David

  5. Thanks David for this wonderful tips that you’ve put out here.It’s just wonderful

    Words are a powerful tool that can make or break us depending on how we put them to use. The Bible and other Holy Books went to great extent to show case that in various ways.

    Words are also the outward expression of our inner most thoughts. It is also a fact that that our thought has a way of attracting forces that brings those thoughts to reality, not minding if they are positive or positive. So it is important that we guard against what we think and what we say for “out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks” and “as a man thinks, so he is”.

    • Hi & thank you for your kind words,
      Words are indeed powerful therefore we must be careful how we use them. Using them for “good” will make us all richer in my opinion. I appreciate your thoughtful comments.
      be good to yourself
      David

    • Hi Marc,
      That’s a nice spin on things. I could have gone on with this post however I preferred to keep it brief and rely on my wonderful “audience” to fill in the blanks.
      be good to yourself
      David

  6. I sat down at a table with another mom in a mall as our daughters ran off to shop. Her daughter paused and ran back to the table. “Speak wisely,” she smiled, and ran off again. I have no idea what she thought we were going to talk about (!), but I always try to remember her sage advice! As I heard in a sermon once, we can speak our greatest destiny.

  7. Pingback: Let The Words of My Mouth… « Daddy's Little Girl

  8. Words are something most of us are not careful about. We speak with little thought about the impact it can do. So its important to choose our words wisely. 🙂

  9. Hey David,
    I think you’ve touched on an important topic. Our words get us in trouble many times, mostly because we are careless and not careless in choosing our words careless in allowing ourselves to say things we completely know should not be said. It takes a very humble and wise person to know when to speak and what is important to say. Lately, I myself have been having to hold back my tongue 🙂 and might at I add, it been has been a challenge! Thank you for this reminder.

    • G’day Ariana,
      That’s a pleasure, I’m happy this post has made you think. That’s what I try to do. Words are powerful, even more so when used wisely.
      Thank you for being part of this story.
      be good to yourself
      David

  10. Hi David,

    Yes words do matter!. It’s easy to forget that but as you say, our words are expressions of us, our thoughts and feelings. I do think of this when I speak and I work to pay attention to not only what I am saying but HOW I am saying it. Tonality os also an expression and key in all verbal communications.

    Thank you for this useful post!

    • Hi Keith,
      Tonality can make a tremendous difference Keith, especially when over the phone. ‘How” you say it, “how’ you think is vital. Thank you for commenting & providing a very important point.
      be good to yourself
      David

  11. David,

    This makes me think of the old saying, “sticks and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” Nothing is farther from the truth in my opinion. Word are very powerful and the ability to communicate effectively can truly alter the course of our life. A catalyst for some of the greatest or most prolific events in history was speeches and propaganda, whether this is positive or negative. There are certainly times when we should choose our words wisely. Thanks!

    • Hi Joe,
      Thank you for contributing. Choosing our words ( & thoughts) wisely certainly helps. I agree, Effective communication is a must however is sadly lacking in many areas. I appreciate you calling in.
      be good to yourself
      David

  12. Hi David,
    Words are so powerful. That’s why I love the written word, as in reading and writing, and the spoken word. They are the means to Inspiration and Impact. These two concepts are key for me.
    Thank you for this simple and crucial reminder of the importance and power of Words.

Leave a Reply

