What are your Theories on Life? Here’s One …but it’s gone up in a puff of smoke


There are numerous theories  recorded throughout history. We learned about many of them during our schooling.

Then we have our own theories about this and that. Many of these relate to how we navigate our way through Life..….and then there are conspiracy theories…..well, we’ll leave that one alone.

With our own lives, we gather information from varying sources e.g, our parents, our peers, self help books, media, friends and our daily observations. We then tend to “theorise” how things work you know…….. life in general, the Universe, right & wrong, how to become successful & wealthy etc,

A friend of mine, Trevor used to have a great theory. If he worked hard, got noticed by the Boss, worked overtime, didn’t take most of his holidays then he would be promoted.  His employers would look after him. “They like people who put in that extra effort” said Trevor.

He reasoned(theorised) that he would also get numerous pay rises due to his

extra diligence, be able to look after his loving wife and children and retire with a nice sum of money………good theory.

For a few years, things were going quite well for Trevor at work, his “theory” was working…….at home it was becoming different. Family life suffered because of Trevor’s “extra diligence” at work, they rarely saw him,……..theory now looking a little shaky.

A few months later, ‘the deal breaker’, Trevor was retrenched…….theory now shot to pieces – BANG.

Trevor now theorises “that life sucks”.

From Trevor’s perspective, life is looking perilous on two fronts 1. lack of employment therefore lack of promotion therefore lack of pay (rise)…….retiring with a nice sum of money looks unlikely.

2. Trevor needs to patch up his family life

What would you do in Trevor’s situation?…. Continue to lament that “life sucks”? OR create a new “theory”?……a paradigm shift if you will.

You see, Trevor relied largely on his main theory outlined in this post. So when it went ‘Bang’………..he was lost, he had no back up plan… “Life sucked”.

I guess we can over theorise on Life. Keeping it simple & varied has it’s benefits. Balancing work with family, terribly important.

We get a few ‘bumps’ or ‘bangs’ in our Lives that  should cause us to think about our “theories” on Life. Take a look at your Life from a different angle, a fresh perspective. Because it can be “over” in a flash.

What really matters.? It’s an individual thing however it’s worth considering very carefully. You only have one shot at this Life so why not make it a great one.

Can you relate to Trevor’s story? Does life “suck” for you… or have you turned it around?

be good to yourselves

David

I help men & women aged 40 & over, make their goals, dreams & longer term Visions for their Life, come true. I want You to be excited about your Life. 

and YES, I coach in Australia & around the world via Skype…Contact me Today for your FREE introductory coaching session… david@davidstevenslifecoach.com.au

#  I welcome you to Visit and “like” my Facebook page

  • Try a Free Coaching session or high value, low cost Virtual Coaching package…simply click on the appropriate apps on my Facebook page or you can email me …david@davidstevenslifecoach.com.au

Please join me also at:

  • I’d love you to follow me on Twitter
15 thoughts on “What are your Theories on Life? Here’s One …but it’s gone up in a puff of smoke

  1. Hi David,

    Life is beautiful and we always need balance and back up plan for the unknown. Always remember to keep that sense of humor for when life doesn’t make any sense.

    I believe the biggest mistake that people have is thinking that money is the most important. When we leave this planet people will remember you by the way you loved, not by your bank account.

    I do hope that Trevor figure his life theroy out before it ends. Love is what makes the world go around! End of story.
    Thank you David
    debbie

  2. Perhaps the lesson is to diversify one’s theories and not rely to heavily life as stable or safe or secure. Not so much “it’s scary out there” but more – “I’m preparing for life’s adventure and if it’s a smooth ride, at least I’m still in good”

    If we want to enjoy this life experience, we must continually strengthen our resolve to turn our mind around when it’s no longer serving our best.

  3. I think you’re so right, David.. What really matters? I think relationships matter, and following what brings joy into our lives with work that is meaningful to us. Life is beautiful, and the bumps allow for new opportunities, if we’re willing to see them.

  4. I know plenty of people who are like Trevor. They also usually the type of people who think that their peril is all someone else’s fault and think someone else could fix it all.

    I know I’m blowing my own horn here but I really do not theorize like that. I go into a mode of thinking that the situation wasn’t right for me anyway so it’s time to look farther.

  5. David – I have always been a believer in hard work BUT I also knew from a young age that in order to get the promotion I wanted or get a new gig was to promote/sell myself. You don’t get ahead just by excellent work…most the time. NOW….in the past year, I have made some significant changes about my theory of hard work. With the influence of the Hicks and ‘Excuse Me Your Life Is Waiting’ which I had read years ago but didn’t put it to use, I am now not trying to excell but am trusting more in the power of my energy…and that the earth will provide. May sound ‘New Agey’ (which I don’t like) but I don’t have the words to say what I want. Fran

    • You are doing fine Fran, I see where you are coming from.
      Tap into your own power & use it for your own good…believing in yourself is indeed powerful. Thankyou for being here
      be good to yourself

  6. Hi David,

    Life can throw you so curve balls, like they did for Trevor. When those things, happen, it is the perfect time to take a look at your approach, relationships or anything else that is keeping you stuck in a negative rut. I try to remember that things happen for a reason, and so far, it’s worked out for me. Best regards.

Leave a Reply

