What have you always wanted to do but haven’t been able to start?


Why is it that we have something that we have longed to do and yet still manage to either

  • put it off for another time, not important enough now (excuse)
  • still working up the courage to try (doubt)
  • dismiss altogether as “fantasy, dream time stuff” (excuse)

Doubts and Excuses are generally the main offenders here.  OR

Is it for Fear?…..

Fear of failure, Fear of ridicule?

Fear of someone saying “NO” to your new marvellous idea, strategy, proposal, request, dream, goal, question?

Is it due to lack of Self Esteem?…..

You’ve been told before that this “won’t work”

You have had many previous “NO’s”

Your ‘Courage flame’ has been extinguished

Deep down you don’t feel worthy

Is it due to lack of Motivation?…..

There is not a big enough “Why”

Your “time” is being spent doing other stuff

The passion is missing

Is it due to lack of your Focus?……….

Too many ‘distractions’

‘Urgent’ things taking precedence over important things

Time poor or poor time management

Fear, Doubt, Excuses lurk within us all.

Fear & Doubt are very similar and generally go hand in hand. There have been many great articles written on this subject and also on Motivation, Self Esteem & Focus.

Excuses…..the silent destroyer of our dreams & goals & delayer of our actions, our go forward. Excuses are sneaky. Excuses are subtle. We excuse our actions or should I say, lack of action with language that suits the occasion…..

“I’m not quite ready”…..”Tomorrow would be better”…..”I don’t really deserve this”…..I am not as good as them”…..”I have other better stuff to do right now”

When I say language, this may not necessarily be words. Remember it starts with your thoughts and this is where the subtelty lies. One’s subconscious is feeding you ‘excuse thoughts’ without you knowing.

They then manifest into your inaction. Tricky eh? Well…..

How about some Purpose?…..Get your mind into “action mode”. Feed yourself “action thoughts” like, Positive I am statements, I will do statements…..how about making them your daily ritual?

I say, enough of the ‘excuses’, banish the ‘doubt & fear’. Make a start on your long held dreams. Make a start on doing the things that will make you feel good. Make a start on the things that will make a difference in your Life…..are you with me?
What have you always wanted to do but haven’t made a start? Do any of the above factors ring true?…..please share your thoughts

be good to yourselves

David

p.s Feel free to view & “like” my Facebook page over there, if you like

I also hang out @ www.davidstevenslifecoach.com.au

check out my Virtual Coach page here

pps. Sign up for my On line Coaching Buddy during October and get an additional month Free i.e Two months for the price of one!

17 thoughts on “What have you always wanted to do but haven’t been able to start?

  1. Hi David,
    I have been putting off re-habbing my kitchen for years. I keep saying I will get started in the winter but I haven’t yet. This year I have been putting aside some money to at least get the ball rolling.

    I really didn’t have the energy or patience to deal with a major project like that but If I want to get it done than I had better.

  2. I have not really put off anything much. I know what I want in 3,5,10 years. I am just lining them up one by one like a target board. taking them out one after another. Is that considered delaying, inaction or finding excuse?

    hahaha

    • Hi Adam & welcome!
      Focus is a major key. It’s something I have been working hard on of late. Excuses just don’t work do they? Cheers to forward progress.
      Thanks for joining in.
      be good to yourself
      David

  3. Great point David about making a start with your thoughts – this is surely where it all begins….in the mind and then the heart gets connected to those thoughts…

    Great piece of advice my friend and terrific content for content is KING!

    Living in the possibilities,
    Nancy

  4. Hi David,

    I don’t think there are things I want to do and which I did not start yet. However, they are not finished either. I’m not the fastest, because I don’t take short cuts and there are many things at will accomplish the same time. But I will arrive at the moment the right time has come.

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Excuses and blame kill our ability to do what we want or need to do. We are fully and completely responsible for taking action towards what we want.
    I’m in the throes of all this now that I just heard Jack Canfield give a great talk on getting where you want to go. And his book, The Success Principals, is a wonderful guide to this. I highly recommend it, especially to coaches.

  6. Pingback: What’s Your Passion? | montyrainey

  7. Thanks for sharing such an amazing post here! Great message and insights here. I personally do my best to do whatever it is I have to do. I don’t like them piling up. That’s just how I am lol I do my best to make myself happy in the process. Very important I believe is to remain happy especially while doing everything that’s important to us.

    Totally agree with you on the excuses being silent killers part. Very true! Excuses can ruin lives as well. Great post here and keep it up! Thanks for the amazing insights here. 😀

  8. Hi David,

    For me it’s probably my lack of focus. I am a high “I” behavioral style so I tend to get distracted with tons of projects at once. I can work on many things at once, but because of that, I can let things slip through the cracks.

    I need to get better at focusing if I want to really make another project work.

    Bryce

Leave a Reply

