Mid Life Adventure – A Roadmap for the 40+’s


Wow! So you have reached the ripe age of 40. Notice that I didn’t say “the ripe old age of 40″? That’s because you are not old. Anyway “old” is a term I find quite useless. It lacks specific definition i.e what is “old”?….ok enough of this, let’s get back on track……..I have survived my forties and made some pretty significant life choices along the way. You too can embark upon and enjoy your own mid life adventure!!

In my previous posts, Beating the Mid Life Blues and Setting Life Goals After 40 I  mentioned, enjoyment of Life and setting Goals as well as many others. While many of the points that I raised are important, these two however  are vital.

Enjoying Life, having fun are the first parts of the Roadmap, the starting point to your journey, your adventure. They are what we are all  here for. If you are not strapped in ready for a fun-filled, enjoyable adventure, you may as well stay parked in the garage.

What do you enjoy the most in Life? What’s fun for you?…..What makes your heart sing? These are questions that I have asked of myself and also of my Life Coaching clients. They go to the essence of who we are and who we need to be to enjoy the next stage of our life, the start of our journey from 40 and beyond.

Now to formulate or create your Roadmap you will need Directions. This can come in the form of establishing goals or from a general sense of knowing where you are heading,  i.e   Where do you want to go(with your Life)?

I have observed that some people thrive with setting goals, others prefer charting a particular direction which allows “detours” along the way. Why not, it’s an adventure after all! “Detours” allow you the option of deviating to check ‘what else is there which may be useful to me’, without the structure of a defined goal/path. Either way will get you moving.

Questions you may wish to ask yourself to establish your Directions  could be…..e.g What do I want to achieve?  What is most important to me? Short term, mid term , long term goals…..What do I want waiting for me at the end of the road?  What am I leaving behind that I may wish to take with me?  What will it take to make it to the end? What if……..?

N.B There may be a lot of “what if’s” however to move forward with your journey, they need to be put to rest. Otherwise they will haunt you and you will not start  – can the “what if’s”.

Short term & mid term goals can be designed to be stop off points for your journey. Rest stops where you can stay a while, reflect on your progress thus far, enjoy your successes & spend time to review your longer term strategy/end goals/destination.

The amount of goals/destinations that you establish for your journey is entirely up to you. However, keeping the fun happening with creative goal setting and imaginative directions  will allow you to enjoy this stage of your life and the journey beyond…….Now, what are you going to do about your life?….how about getting excited!?


Be good to yourselves

David

p.s  Feel free to view & “like” my Facebook page over there, if you like

I also hang out@ www.davidstevenslifecoach.com.au…the “go to” Coach for the 40’s & over & provider of the 6 Step Life Revitaliser Program

# To view more photos from aussiegall please visit www.louisedocker.com.au or Louise Docker Photography on Facebook

2 thoughts on “Mid Life Adventure – A Roadmap for the 40+’s

  1. “Short term & mid term goals can be designed to be stop off points for your journey. Rest stops where you can stay a while, reflect on your progress thus far, enjoy your successes & spend time to review your longer term strategy/end goals/destination.”
    I love this description of short term goals – I never looked at it this way before but that’s just what short term goals are, isn’t it? Stop off points to reflect and maybe tweak the next short term goal. I enjoy your writing, gives me a new way to look at something.
    walk in beauty.

Leave a Reply

