Is there a Lunatic inside your Head?


Album cover

Album cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is a post I wrote near on 2 years agoI believe that it is still relevant today.

“I’ve gone a little crazy for this post. It”s a somewhat different take on things, a different angle or perspective if you like……..

#What’s that you say?…..I thought I heard a voice. # Nah, can’t be?

You know, that nagging “voice” which is trying to interrupt your concentration. You are  focussing but there is something else lurking in your subconscious, trying to get to the surface………it appears some lunatic is attempting to sabotage your thoughts OR is that same “lunatic” just trying to get your attention?

Which “lunatic” is it…..Good Lunatic or Bad Lunatic?

The Good Lunatic may at first seem a little crazy, a little different, make a lot of noise but hey, isn’t that the world that we live in? full of noise, distraction. Maybe that’s why he/she is making so much noise……to get your attention in the first instance.

Unnecessary distraction & noise take us away from our Main Game. There are (numerous) times when I have  needed a “good lunatic” to get me back on track. A Voice prepared to give me a good “kicking” when required. A Voice to rise above the noise of everyday Life and at the same time, respect my need for quietness when the time to pause for some deep thought & introspection is required

However, there is also the “bad lunatic” voice, which can be much more subtle(at first). Quietly whispering in your ear. The soothing sounds of self destruction. He/she sneeks up on you, becomes your “friend”, gently offering support & encouragement……..only to eventually get you derailed!

Then the  “bad” becomes “real bad”. He/she ups the volume. The gentle soothing whispers become noisier, more persistent. You have difficulty hearing anything else, this “lunatic” is gaining control & is blocking out the voice of reason, commonsense, practicality and the quiet of deep personal thought.

Which “lunatic” do you want or have inside your head?

Sadly, many are unaware of the voice within - the inner guiding light, intuition, cosmic power source, universal thought line or whatever tag you would like to apply. So for many, there is a lunatic running loose in the asylum. A distracting noise aimed at your self destruction.

The Key, I believe is knowing your inner voice, it’s vulnerabilities and it’s power (when it’s good & when it’s bad). Knowing your inner voice & it’s behaviour, will give you more self control and the ability to be your true self, rather than have a “lunatic” in charge of your life.”

I’d love to hear your thoughts …..

Be good to yourselves

David

Life Coach. Listener. Life Lover.

# In 2013 I will mainly be at my new site. So please join me for coffee, fresh writings, fresh thoughts and ideas at : www.davidstevenslifecoach.com.au/blog


2 thoughts on “Is there a Lunatic inside your Head?

  1. David, my first reaction, when I read the title of your post in my mailbox, was, gosh! How did David know? :-) Then I read the entire post. This post will always be relevant; in fact – it is timeless. I try and have a coffee with my inner voice every once in a while to keep her happy and yes, we’re good friends.

    Thank you for a beautifully inspiring post. You know what I admire about you? You offer valuable and thought provoking points to ponder wrapped in short sweet posts that are memorable.

    Hugs, Vidya

Leave a Reply

